When Feeling Better Leads to MOAR FLARE

19 02 2013

Working out, repairing & building muscle have, over just two months, decreased my fibro pain a lot & increased my functionality some. Subsequently, I feel like a normal person a lot of the time (as long as I ignore my personality).

The problem with feeling normal when you’re not normal is that you behave like a normal person. That is to say, you stop managing your time like a fibroglob & start allowing yourself to be scheduled like Justin Beiber on an international press junket.

…well, kind of. At least from a fibromyalgia point of view.

I now realize as my brain goes limp, my connective tissues go rigid, & my belly makes alarming noises that I scheduled 3 fibro unfriendly activities 3 nights in a row. Two were absolutely essential, but one wasn’t really & involved sitting still for 3 hours straight. I should not have agreed to it knowing exactly what else I had to do on Saturday & Sunday. If the extra activity had been essential, I should have gotten up & moved around so that my back wouldn’t freeze.

What was I thinking? Well, I wasn’t. Knowing I had a 3 hour drive on Saturday & a 7 hour event on Sunday, I still agreed to dinner with a client on Friday. I figured “It’s just dinner, in and out in an hour. Then I can shop for Saturday.” I ended up, three hours of sitting and one hour of shopping later, being in so much pain I couldn’t sleep. I made truly idiotic breakfast choices on Saturday, was stuck in traffic for 50 miles, but had a wonderful time with my family. Sunday was fun, but I barely ate all day.

Today it is cold & wet. I’m loopy & achy. I can’t form spoken sentences.

WHY AM I SURPRISED I’M IN FLARE?

Work was slow today so I came home for self care, which involves a lot of hummus. My stomach is much less rowdy. My neck has abdicated. My shoulders and hips are enraged. But I’m not making it worse by slogging through, providing crappy service, & sitting in one position for hours. I’m also not a hazard to other drivers with my fatigue (uh, any more). The idea is to be fully functional tomorrow rather than in a full fledged pain coma.

Healthy days are great, but you must remind yourself they’re precious & only exist with careful scheduling of activities. The temptation to overdo is nearly impossible to resist, but we must. Or you too will be on the couch in front of Bravo with a heat pad on your neck & this stupid cat screaming at me.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

